It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (45)

Standard

IM  Mon Reading Button PB to YA

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys where you can recap what you’ve read this week while planning ahead on what to read next! Jen at Teach Mentor Texts and Kellee & Ricki at Unleashing Readers added their own twist by focusing on kidlit, from picture books up to YA.

Clicking the covers will take you to the Goodreads page, where you can add it to your “To Read” list!

The last 2 weeks I read:

MG/YA Books

Living with Jackie Chan  Siege and Storm (The Grisha, #2)  Jessica Darling's It List #1: The (Totally Not) Guaranteed Guide to Popularity, Prettiness & Perfection

The Nine Lives of Alexander Baddenfield  The Distance Between Us  Speechless

Jo Knowles has secured her status on my list of favorite authors. She has a knack for writing stories and characters that touch people. Living With Jackie Chan is the companion to Jumping Off Swings, a book about a teen pregnancy and one of the most popular books in my classroom. In Jumping Off Swings, Josh gets Ellie pregnant after a one night stand. We hear from Josh (it’s told in alternating points of view from Ellie, Josh, and their two best friends, Corrine and Caleb), but the story is truly Ellie’s story. Living With Jackie Chan is purely Josh’s story of how he is dealing with everything after. If you’re a jr high/high school teacher, Jumping Off Swings is a book that NEEDS to be in your classroom library, and you need to add Living With Jackie Chan when it releases in September.

Also on my favorite author list, Leigh Bardugo. Her Grisha series is soooooo good!! Alina is so tortured. The Darkling is so creepy. Mal is so loyal. Agh! My heart! I cannot wait to see how this series ends in Ruin and Rising, and I really want to check out the mini-novellas The Witch of Duva, The Tailor, and The Too-Clever Fox. Even though I’ve only read like ONE mini-novella, I really love when authors take the time to do this and add that other dimension to their series.

Jessica Darling’s It List #1: The (Totally Not) Guaranteed Guide to Popularity, Prettiness & Perfection is the middle-grade prequel series for the Jessica Darling series, and shows how high school Jessica became who she is. I haven’t read any of the original Jessica Darling series, but this book was SO. CUTE. that I want to read the rest of the prequel series then move on to the Jessica Darling books. (Read ARC for Tweens Read Festival)

Another Tweens Read read was The Nine Lives of Alexander Baddenfield. This book tells the story of Alexander, the last of the bad Baddenfield family, and his 9 deaths after having his cat’s lives transplanted into him. This was a cute read, and I think it would be perfect for 4th-6th graders.

I loved Kasie West’s Pivot Point, and (though a completely different genre) I equally loved The Distance Between Us. Kasie West is definitely on my auto-buy list…I just love her style and her characters! The Distance Between Us was a great contemporary with a cute guy and sarcastic girl. I can’t wait to meet her at Blue Willow Bookshop in August!

I bought Speechless in December with a Christmas B&N gift card, book talked it in January when we came back from break, and saw it snatched up in 1st period. It made the round through about 3 or 4 students and was returned to the shelf in the back of a basket. I honestly had forgotten about it until an “end of year inventory” project with my homeroom. We added it to the inventory list, and I added it to my summer TBR. After reading this book, it will NOT be lost in the back of basket again. This book is powerful, and it could definitely foster some great conversations in the classroom.

Graphic Novels

Nothing Can Possibly Go Wrong  Cardboard

Two great graphic novels this week. My students already love Cardboard, but Nothing Can Possibly Go Wrong was an addition late in the school year, so I can’t wait for this one to make the rounds this coming year!

This week I plan to read/continue:

MG/YA Books

Heaven Is Paved with Oreos  Odd Squad,The Bully Bait  45 Pounds (More or Less)

 Sold  October Mourning: A Song for Matthew Shepard

The first two are for Tweens Read.
45 Pounds is from Netgalley
The last two are for the fun teacher’s YALit class I’m doing this summer. Check it out!

Graphic Novel

Amulet, Vol. 2: The Stonekeeper's Curse (Amulet, #2)

Audiobook

Insignia

Since I’m not spending as much time in the car, it’s been difficult to listen to much of Insignia lately. I can’t wait to see how it ends!

*** *** ***

I can’t wait for this week of reading! What about you?

12 responses »

  1. Wow! You’ve got SOOOO many good books here, and I haven’t read any of them! I just heard about Page by Paige and heard it was great! I want to read more of Jo Knowles – I’ve only read See You at Harry’s and LOVED it. I’ve wanted to read Chopsticks, too. Oh my – I don’t have time for school to start in August! 😉

  2. I think I need to move Living with Jackie Chan to the top of the pile. I didn’t realize it was a companion to Jumping off Swings. I completely agree with you that Jo Knowles has a way of connecting readers to her touching characters. She is also on my favorite authors list. I got the first Grisha book on Audible because I have been really wanting to read this series. I hope to get to that soon. Nothing Can Possibly Go Wrong also looks like one I need to add to the TBR list. Have a great reading week!

  3. Amulet is an awesome series! I think the books get better as the series moves along. I need to invest in another set for my classroom. I agree with Holly, I’ve really wanted to read Chopsticks for a long time. It seems so interesting!

  4. I feel like an idiot that I never knew Living with Jackie Chan was a companion. Now I REALLY want to read it. You will love Sold and October Mourning. Both have been very well-received by my students and they make great models of writing. I always photocopy pages from those books as teasers to make kids want to read them, and it works every time.

    I love the background of your website. I don’t think I noticed it before. It is so beautiful. Is it a template or did you make it?

  5. I just checked Jumping Off Swings out from the library! Your post makes me want to move it right to the top of the TBR pile. I just finished reading Odd Squad aloud to my older son, who loved it. I’ve been trying to finish Cassandra Clare’s Clockwork Angel as my audiobook but like you, not in the car as much right now and struggling to get it finished. I want to know what’s going to happen! Might have to manufacture a mini road trip to get through the last 3 discs!

  6. Right there with you about Jo Knowles – I just lent a friend who is jumping in to the IMWAYR world See you at Harry’s So happy to hear that you also loved Living with Jackie Chan. I am excited to revisit some of these characters in the fall! I want to read The nine Lives . . . just for that fantastic cover! Love the morose colours and the quirky feel.

  7. What an intense amount of reading! I read Insignia with Kathy (thebrainlair) and I have Vortex sitting on my table… among the numerous other TBR books. Did you hear they are working on an Amulet movie? (EARLY stages)

  8. I definitely need to catch up with Jo Knowles-I loved See You At Harry’s, so these others that you and Carrie are talking about sound very good! I appreciate all that you shared, and hadn’t heard of Speechless at all, so thanks a lot! Still need to read Cardboard too! Too many…

Leave a Reply

