It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (44)

Standard

  Mon Reading Button PB to YA

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys where you can recap what you’ve read this week while planning ahead on what to read next! Jen at Teach Mentor Texts and Kellee & Ricki at Unleashing Readers added their own twist by focusing on kidlit, from picture books up to YA.

Clicking the covers will take you to the Goodreads page, where you can add it to your “To Read” list!

Last week I read:

MG/YA Books

Spell Bound (Hex Hall, #3)  Counting by 7s  Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass, #2)

Spell Bound was a satisfying conclusion to the Hex Hall series. I still think that my favorite book of the series was the first one. Rachel Hawkins released the first book in a spin-off series, called School Spirits, that follow Izzy, a character introduced in Spell Bound. I will definitely read this series because I do enjoy Hawkins’ light/funny style of writing.

This year I am helping plan a local book festival for 5th through 8th graders called Tweens Read. As authors commit, the chairperson receives ARCs of the books they are prompting so that we can read them and prepare for panels. So when I saw that Holly Goldberg Sloan had committed and our chairperson had a copy of Counting By 7s, I emailed immediately that I wanted to read it! Lucky people who had read advanced copies of Counting By 7s have been singing its praises on Twitter for weeks, and I knew that it would be a treat. The first part of the Goodreads summary says, “In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family,” and I think that is a fitting description.

Another book I was lucky enough to read early was Crown of Midnight. *flails and fangirls* Ohmygosh y’all…I just can’t even. It was so great, and my friend and coworker drove to my house to pick it up and read immediately after I texted her that I finished. If you haven’t read Throne of Glass, do so immediately! I have to spend a special thanks to Jen Ansbach for picking the book up for me while she was at BEA!!

Audio Book

Etiquette & Espionage (Finishing School, #1)

Thanks to this audio book, I was able to stay awake during my legs of driving during our Texas -> Arizona road trip! The narrator had a very distinct voice, and did a good job of distinguishing characters. The story itself was entertaining, and I’m curious to see where the second book leads!

This week I plan to read/continue:

The Distance Between Us  Siege and Storm (The Grisha, #2)

Insignia

*** *** ***

I can’t wait for this week of reading! What about you?

13 responses »

  1. Reading right now, “The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari: A Fable About Fulfilling Your Dreams & Reaching Your Destiny” . I`m recommending 😉

    Thank you for the nice poste

  2. I have Throne of Glass on my Kindle and keep hearing it’s a good read so I just may have to move that one toward the top of my TBR pile. And I am jealous of anyone reading Counting by 7’s – it seems as if everyone IS talking about this book! 🙂

  3. Lucky duck, getting Counting By 7s! Can’t wait to read that one after all the Twitter-adoration! Helping with that festival sounds like a great opportunity!

  4. Counting by 7s. Apparently that is one I need to get a copy of ASAP! I enjoyed Etiquette and Espionage. I actually have an e-arc of book two but I haven’t read it yet. SO MANY BOOKS!

  5. Ugh! (not aimed at you personally). Every blog has listed great, great sounding books that I haven’t read yet. *sigh* Too many books, too little time.

    Thank you so much for participating in IMWAYR and happy reading this week 🙂
    Kellee

Leave a Reply

