It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (40)

Standard

  Mon Reading Button PB to YA

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys where you can recap what you’ve read this week while planning ahead on what to read next! Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts added their own twist by focusing on kidlit, from picture books up to YA.

Clicking the covers will take you to the Goodreads page, where you can add it to your “To Read” list!

Last week I read:

MG/YA Books

Send  OCD, the Dude, and Me  The 5th Wave (The Fifth Wave, #1)

Out Of This Place  The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight  Amulet, Vol. 2: The Stonekeeper's Curse

Send is a book about bullying from the perspective of the former bully. It didn’t quite end up being exactly what I imagined, but it was still powerful…and twisted.

OCD, The Dude, and Me was a cute read. I loved the format (essays and journal entries), especially the teacher comments on class essays!

The 5th Wave lived up to all of the hype — intense and action packed. I have lots of students waiting eagerly and verrry patiently to get their hands on this book.

Out of This Place is a novel in verse that was a very quick (literally finished in approx. an hour), touching read about the lives of different students waiting to get out of their hometown.

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight was a quick read that I started and finished on Saturday, and I absolutely loved it. My husband literally came downstairs to check on me because I said I was “going to read a little of my book,” then stayed downstairs reading for 2 hours! (I’m sure you guys have never done that! Haha ;))

Amulet 2: The Stonekeeper’s Curse is a great second book in the series. I need to finish this series because my students and my son loveLoVeLOVE them, and I need to finish so that I have talking points!

This week I plan to read/continue:

Shadow and Bone (The Grisha, #1)    Perfect Scoundrels (Heist Society, #3)  Going Vintage  The Madness Underneath (Shades of London, #2)

*** *** ***

I can’t wait for this week of reading! What about you?

5 responses »

  1. Perfect Scoundrels was delightful! Make sure you check out the free digital short story where the characters frm this series meet the Gallagher Girls. It was available through Carter’s web site for a while.

  2. I have The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight on my Kindle. I am glad to know that it is a quick read and I am looking forward to it. It sounds like I also need to check out The 5th Wave. The series by Maureen Johnson also sounds really fascinating. I will be interested in hearing your thoughts. Have a great week!

  3. I’m so glad you enjoyed The Statistical Probability. I loved that book. I can’t wait to hear what you think of Madness Underneath, I’m curious if we have the same opinion. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

