It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (39)

Standard

  Mon Reading Button PB to YA

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys where you can recap what you’ve read this week while planning ahead on what to read next! Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts added their own twist by focusing on kidlit, from picture books up to YA.

Clicking the covers will take you to the Goodreads page, where you can add it to your “To Read” list!

Last week I read:

MG/YA Books

The Rules for Disappearing  Breaking Point (Article 5, #2)  Scarlet (Scarlet #1)

The Rules for Disappearing was a good mystery read. Throughout the story, “Megan” tries to figure out why she and her family have been put in witness protection. She believes that it’s something her father did, and as she is plagued by dreams and memory fragments, she is able to piece the puzzle together.

Last year, Article 5 was a title that I was super excited to read. When it finally came out, I read it right away…and was a little disappointed. The main characters Ember and Chase were whiny and moody, and they didn’t communicate, so the whole book was “I wish he knew ______, but I can’t tell him.”/”I wish she knew ________, but I can’t tell her.” I was hesitant to read Breaking Point because I was scared it would be more of the same, but I’m the type that can’t just leave a series hanging…and I’m really glad I didn’t! Breaking Point has a lot of action that keeps you invested, Ember has become stronger and therefore less whiny, and there are mysterious characters that keep you guessing as to what exactly their intentions might be.

I’ve seen Twitter friends rave about Scarlet, so I bought a copy when I saw it at B&N recently. OMG, so amazing! It’s a re-telling of the Robin Hood story, and it is just as amazing as people were saying. This is one that I recommend you buy/check out from the library the first chance you have.

This week I plan to read/continue:

  Send  Astronaut Academy: Zero Gravity  OCD, the Dude, and Me

*** *** ***

I can’t wait for this week of reading! What about you?

4 responses »

  1. I have really got to read Scarlet! Everyone raves about it. I look forward to your thoughts on OCD, the Dude, and Me. It was not what I was expecting.

  2. Oh my goodness. I just started laughing when I saw your Scarlet cover. What a goose I was the other day thinking you were referring to the other Scarlet novel by Marissa Meyer. I imagine this one is pretty good too. Love the buccaneer look. It fits right in with my city. We just held our Buccaneer Days festival.

  3. I will definitely have to find/read The Rules for Disappearing and Scarlet. I know what you mean about the whiny teenage characters who just don’t communicate. That has quickly become one of my pet peeves in some of the recent young adult literature.

  4. Astronaut Academy looks like a fun read. Good to hear that you enjoyed Scarlet a lot – would have to check that one out. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

