It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (38)

Standard

  Mon Reading Button PB to YA

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys where you can recap what you’ve read this week while planning ahead on what to read next! Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts added their own twist by focusing on kidlit, from picture books up to YA.

Clicking the covers will take you to the Goodreads page, where you can add it to your “To Read” list!

Last week I read:

MG/YA Books

Some Girls Are  Catching Jordan (Hundred Oaks, #1)  Stealing Parker (Hundred Oaks, #2)  If I Lie

A couple of weeks ago, my students watched to movie Odd Girl Out (gotta love weird schedules while state testing is going on). The movie is based on a book, Odd Girl Out: The Hidden Culture of Aggression in Girls, which deals with girls and bullying. The movie was very powerful, and my students had some intense discussions afterward. I’d had Some Girls Are on my TBR foreverrrr, so I figured this was the perfect time to read it. It paired perfectly with the topic of bullying from Odd Girl Out. I book talked it, and there’s now a waiting list for the title! (Also, if you haven’t read Courtney’s Cracked Up To Be, that’s a fabulous read as well.)

Catching Jordan and Stealing Parker was both light, lovey contemporaries. I love how there is some crossover of characters. Both books were quick reads; I finished both in about a day Things I Can’t Forget and Racing Savannah are the next Hundred Oaks stories, and I will definitely be reading the rest of the series.

I picked up a copy of If I Lie at NCTE in November where I also got to meet and talk with Corrine Jackson. I was really excited to get back home and read it. When I got back to school, I booktalked all of the books that I picked up, and I had students grabbing for If I Lie…it had a waiting list a mile long. This week was the first time that no students were waiting for it to return…so I took my chance to grab it and hide it so I could read it! I absolutely loved it. Sophie/Quinn’s relationship with George is touching; she is loyal to a fault; she is strong enough to handle shuns and bullying. I cried a couple of different times, and I was rooting for Sophie the whole time.

This week I abandoned:

The S-Word

The reasons I abandoned the book have nothing to do with the story itself. I will definitely be reading this when it is published. However, random capitalization/uncapitalization formatting of the galley made it impossible for me to read. It was just way to distracting to me. I’ve read mixed reviews about the book, and I do want to read it and see for myself.

This week I plan to read/continue:

The Rules for Disappearing  Send  Astronaut Academy: Zero Gravity  Breaking Point (Article 5, #2)

*** *** ***

I can’t wait for this week of reading! What about you?

4 responses »

  1. Some Girls Are is one of my favorite “issues” books. Such a tough read. I should pick up Fall For Anything. I enjoyed Rules for Disappearing! Have a great reading week.

    • I just finished Rules for Disappearing last night and enjoyed it.
      I haven’t read Fall For Anything yet. Have you read Cracked Up To Be? I want to read This Is Not A Test as well (totally different genre)…it seems like everything she writes is good!

  2. I had not ever heard of the movie Odd Girl Out so thanks for that. It sounds like Some Girls Are is a book I should look for too. I have seen really great things about the Catching Jordan series and will have to add If I Lie to my TBR also! Sounds like you had an awesome reading week. Have a great week this week too! (and I hope you are feeling better)

    • Thanks! I’m heading to the doctor today. Too many bouts of bronchitis in too short of a time span…something is not right!
      I’m glad that we watched Odd Girl Out as a class, it really led to some great discussion.

Leave a Reply

