Top 10 Tuesday (21) – Best Bookish Memories

Standard

This is a weekly meme hosted by the good folks at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is…

Top Ten Best Bookish Memories

 

1. Attending the midnight premiere of The Hunger Games movie! I was soooooo excited for the release, and my wonderful husband went with me HOURS early so we could wait in line for good seats while my awesome mom watched our kids. Later in the school year I got to take a group of students to watch it for a field trip.

047

My students were so excited to get to see The Hunger Games rather than be in class!

2. In April I attended my first Houston Teen Book Con. Soooo many great authors! However, the highlight would definitely be the Adults Are Overrated panel where Orson Scott Card was nuts. All of the other authors on the panel (Jessica Spotswood, Maggie Stiefvater, Inara Scott, and Alexandra Adornetto) were a bit agitated with him which was a great talking point when I got to meet Maggie NCTE!

3. In June I won a signed copy of Lunch Lady from librarian extraordinaire  Mr. Schu. At the time that was my son’s first signed book, and he was so excited!

004

J1 was amazed that the author/illustrator “knew” him and sent him this book!

4. In May 2012, my students helped me and our school librarian genre-fy our school library. It was such a fun project for them to work on, and they are still so proud of their work!

5. I teach at an alternative school for at-risk students. Almost EVERY student starts out the year saying, “I hate reading!” Last year was my first year for students to post the books they’ve read somewhere, and it was awesome seeing their love of reading grow. They were amazed that they actually enjoyed reading and were finishing books!

007

At the point of this picture we had approximately 200 titles!

6. Over the summer two friends had Summer ARC tours hot books they had received. My friend Jillian at Heise Reads sent a copy of Unravel Me allllll over the US. Everyone wrote their thoughts when they finished, and I can’t wait to see her post with the final notes! Kathy from The Brain Lair sent Outpost, and I was so excited to catch up with Fade and Deuce!

7. This summer I made tonsssss of trips to the public library with my kids. The highlight of the summer was signing my children up for their own library cards! Of course, in typical library fashion we all ended up with late fines 😉

8. My oldest son (4th grader) checked out Found, the first book in The Missing series. I realized that I had the whole series at my school library as well, so we started each reading our books and reading the series together!

193

It was perfect timing that Margaret Peterson Haddix visited Blue Willow Bookshop when we started our reading.

9. Speaking of NCTE, after wanting to go for yearssssss I attended my first NCTE conference in November! I got to meet all of my NerdyBookClub friends AND have my first exhibit hall experience, which was absolute insanity.

Sherry, me, Lea, Jillian, Sarah

My hotel/convention/exhibit buddies! Sherry, me, Lea, Jillian, Sarah

10. While at NCTE, I was able to have lunch with Trish Doller and Corrine Jackson thanks to my friend Sarah at YA Love Blog. It was so cool that I was just relaxing, talking, and eating with two amazing authors!

098

Eeeeek! I got to hang out with authors!!

One response »

Leave a Reply

