Stacking the Shelves (1)

Standard

STSmall_thumb[2]

People who love books, love to share books! Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews where you can show off the books — books you buy, books you listen to, books you borrow, any books — you’re adding to your shelves.

*** *** ***

Since it’s not often that I buy new books, this is the first time I’ve done a Stacking the Shelves post. However, I was fortunate enough to receive a LOT of books over the last few weeks, so I decided I would highlight them here!

Books From Classroom/School Library

20121224-091259.jpgI brought this stack home from my classroom and school library so that I would have plenty of reading material over Christmas break. I never know what I’ll be in the mood for, so I have to choose a lot!

Christmas Presents (physical books(

011I love receiving books as Christmas presents! I received two copies of Shadow and Bone (one from my mom and one from my mother-in-law), so I exchanged one for Burning Blue. I also received Twenty Boy Summer from my mom!)

Christmas Presents (gift card)

077I received a $50 Barnes and Noble gift card from my other set of in-laws, so it was like a mini-shopping spree when I went in! I picked up five books: I read Life As We Knew It this summer and wanted to add it to my classroom library; Monument 14, because I received the ARC of book 2 at NCTE and needed the 1st book; Speechless (the Harrington title), looks like a great realistic fiction book that my students will love; Leverage, which I’m using with Sarah from YA Love Blog for part of a presentation at NCTE; and Under the Bridge, which I bought with a specific group of my boys I have in mind.

Christmas Present (gift card)

078My sister gave me a gift card to Half-Price Books, which is one of my favorite places! I picked up 3 books: Sweethearts because I’m missing this Sara Zarr title from my classroom library; Five Flavors of Dumb, which I’ve been wanting to read; and This World We Live In, which is goes along with Life As We Knew It.

ARC

055I was lucky enough to meet editor Martha Mihalick (with Greenwillow Books) at NCTE where I gushed over how much I love Rae Carson and The Girl of Fire and Thorns series. She sent me this great debut, written by a fellow Texan.

Books Given To Me

Lucky for me, there are generous book bloggers in Houston who love to share books! Cari from Cari’s Book Blog was cleaning out her shelves and knew that I could give the books a good home in my classroom. I couldn’t believe how many books she gave me! I’m so thankful for her generosity!

Books Won

079

I won this box of book through Rafflecopter giveaway! I never win things, so I was super excited!

So I’m pretty set on books for a while, don’t you think? I’m going to need some new book baskets and bookshelves for my classroom!

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

