BookFlix Friday (5) – Leviathan

Standard

BookFlix Friday is a meme started by David Etkin of {Eat the Book} where we post book trailers that we plan to share with our students to get them reading.

Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld

Leviathan (Leviathan, #1)Prince Aleksander, would-be heir to the Austro-Hungarian throne, is on the run. His own people have turned on him. His title is worthless. All he has is a battletorn war machine and a loyal crew of men.

Deryn Sharp is a commoner, disguised as a boy in the British Air Service. She’s a brilliant airman. But her secret is in constant danger of being discovered.

With World War I brewing, Alek and Deryn’s paths cross in the most unexpected way…taking them on a fantastical, around-the-world adventure that will change both their lives forever. (Goodreads summary)

I absolutely love, love, love they’ve animated illustrations from the book in order to make the trailer! Scott Westerfeld spoke at the ALAN Breakfast during NCTE, and he talked about how books yearssss ago, books for adults, had illustrations and how we’d moved away from that over time. Today, a book with pictures is frowned upon. We encourage elementary aged children to read picture books and middle school students to read Diary of a Wimpy Kid, but as students get older they are often told to read something “harder.” I read picture books with my high school students all the time, and it takes them a while to get over the fact that we’re reading “kid” books, but my students love them! They get mad if they can’t see the pictures! Encourage them to read good stories and books, whether they have pictures or not! I loved the illustrations throughout the Leviathan series; honestly, I don’t think I could have visualized the  beasties and machines without them!

I can’t wait to share this trailer with my class. I really think that they will love it!

2 responses »

  1. First–flattered that you brought the BookFlix Friday meme to your blog. Thanks.

    Nothing gets kids interested like a good trailer. Makes me wonder why ALL books don’t have them.

    Have you read this LEVIATHAN trilo? Looks quite interesting.

    BTW–my colleague and I make BookFlix Friday vids for our video announcements. Here’s an example: http://youtu.be/SUbcOwMl6xM

Leave a Reply

