Reading Challenges for 2013

Standard

I can’t believe that 2012 has flown by and 2013 is now upon us! To start off the new year, here are the reading challenges I’m participating in during 2013!

NerdPrintz Challenge

I am continuing the NerdPrintz challenge that Kathy at The Brain Lair put together last year around this time. Many members of the Nerdy Book Club were talking about challenging themselves to read Caldecott and Newberry titles (over multiple years), so a couple of us got together to challenge ourselves to read the Printz award winners and honor books. I did terrible on this challenge this year, only reading 10 book from the 50+ on the list. My goal is to read at least 2 each month this year. If you’re interested in joining in, you can add the books from my Goodreads shelf. I also made this poster (part 1 and 2) to track my progress as I read.

Dystopia Challenge

the-dystopia-challenge-badge

I loved participating in the 2012 Dystopia Challenge, and I can’t wait to start the Dystopia 2013 hosted by Bookish Ardour. My goal is to complete the “Contagion” level, which consists of reading and reviewing 15 dystopian/post-apocalyptic books. The do well with the reading, not so well with the reviewing, so that’s a goal of mine this year. For a look at what I plan to read for this challenge, check out my 2013 Challenges page!

Debut Author Challenge

DAC

I read some great debut authors by participating in DAC2012, including Personal Effects, Freshman Year and Other Unnatural Disasters, What Happens Next?, and The Forsaken.  I can’t wait to get started on the Debut Author Challenge (DAC) for 2013 hosted by The Hobbitsies. I plan to read and review 12 debut MG/YA novels before December 31, 2013. For a look at what I plan to read for this challenge, check out my 2013 Challenges page! (Also, The Hobbitsies have the most gorgeous blog! I love it!)

Off the Shelf Challenge

off-the-shelf-2013-badgeAt first, I wasn’t going to sign up for this challenge, but I figured that if I’m going to make a point to read books on my TBR list anyway (which I am), then I might as well participate in the challenge! Off the Shelf is also hosted by Bookish Ardor. Most of the Printz books I will be reading will count toward this challenge, but there are plenty of books published in 2012 (or earlier) that I didn’t get to and still want to read. Once again, the books I plan to read for this challenge are listed on my 2013 Challenges page.

I can’t wait to connect with participants in these challenges! What are your challenges for 2013?

One response »

  1. These all sound like great challenges. I started the NerdPrintz challenge last year after reading about it on your blog so I will continue that one. I am still thinking about how I want to challenge myself and my other goals for 2013. I love your lists and hope you are able to read those Off the Shelf titles…there are a lot of good books in that list!

Leave a Reply

