It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (21)

Standard

Mon Reading Button PB to YA

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys where you can recap what you’ve read this week while planning ahead on what to read next! Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts added their own twist by focusing on kidlit, from picture books up to YA.

Clicking the covers will take you to the Goodreads page for that book, where you can add it to your “To Read” list!

Recently I’ve read:

MG/YA

Shadowlands

Shadowlands left me with tons of questions! I gave it to a colleague and told her to read it over Christmas break because I NEED someone to talk to about this one!

Graphic Novels

Friends with Boys The Dodgeball Chronicles (Knights of the Lunch Table, #1)  Anne Frank: The Anne Frank House Authorized Graphic Biography

All three of these graphic novels were great for different reasons. Meeting Faith Erin Hicks at NCTE gave an insight into Friends With Boys and made me appreciate it even more than I would have. She shared that the buildings were all based off of places from her hometown in Canada. I do have to agree with my friend Sherry and her wondering of what purpose the ghost served in the book?

Knights of the Lunch Table was such a fun read, and I loved the allusions to King Arthur! This is one I brought home from the library so that my son could read it. Now I want to read the other two books in the series.

I absolutely loved learning more about Anne Frank’s story through this graphic novel biography. I’ve only read Anne Frank’s diary, and this is the perfect companion to that so that a reader has more background information on the Franks and what was going on for Jewish people like them before and during the war.

This week I’ll start/continue reading:

MG/YA

Since I’m off work for Christmas break, I brought home a taaaall bookstack to read during the break. I don’t have any rhyme or reason as far as what I’m going to read when, so I’ll just leave you with a picture of my stack!

20121224-091259.jpg

Audio Book

Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Still listening to and loving this audio!

What about you? What are YOU reading this week?

3 responses »

  1. I liked Cinder and am looking forward to Scarlet, which is in the TBRpile.mystudents adored Stickman Odyssey, which I thought was okay. They fight over it, though!

Leave a Reply

