It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (19)

Standard

  Mon Reading Button PB to YA

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys where you can recap what you’ve read this week while planning ahead on what to read next! Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts added their own twist by focusing on kidlit, from picture books up to YA.

Clicking the covers will take you to the Goodreads page for that book, where you can add it to your “To Read” list!

Recently I’ve read

MG/YA

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #1)  Reached (Matched, #3)

I wanted to re-read The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer before starting The Evolution of Mara Dyer so I could refresh my memory of the twisty-turny life of Mara. And who doesn’t want a little more Noah Shaw in their life? The only bad news is that I finished it last night (Sunday), and now I’m home with a sick child while The Evolution of Mara Dyer is at school! Oh, the agony!! (Thanks again to the lovely folks at the Simon&Schuster booth who brought in Michelle Hodkin to sign FREE hardback, published copies of TEoMD!)

This week I’ll start/continue reading:

      MG/YA

                                                         Friends with Boys  The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #2)

Audio Book

                                                                           Daughter of Smoke and Bone

 

The last audio I listened to was Anna Dressed In Blood, and I did not care for the narrator, August Ross, at. all. However, I am loving the narrator, Khristine Hvam, of Daughter of Smoke & Bone so far! The story is so intriguing, and I can’t wait to finish and move on to the sequel, Days of Blood & Starlight.

I desperately need to read more picture books this month! I set my goal of 200 books thinking that I would be reading more picture books with the Caldecott challenge. However, I haven’t done so well with that challenge, so I haven’t read as many new picture books as I’d anticipated. I know that I’ve probably met my challenge of 200 books because I read picture books with my kids, but they just like to read the same ones over and over! I’m sure I can convince my daughter to read a couple we have gathering dust during our sick day tomorrow.

What about you? What are YOU reading this week?

4 responses »

  1. I have the audio for Days of Blood and Starlight on hold at the library. I can’t wait till it finally comes in!

    My mission is to try to read The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer over Christmas break. Everyone seems to love that book.

  2. I have not read the Mara books yet. I am overwhelmed with series and I think this one will be on my TBR pile until it is complete. I have Days of Blood and Starlight on audio, but I need listen to Finale by Becca Fitzpatrick first. Friends with Boys is really good. You have some great picks-enjoy!

  3. I loved your Top 10 New-to-me post, BTW! So great to find a treasure chest of new books to explore when that happens! You have so many interesting looking YA titles . . . must carve out more time! Hope sick day brought some good snuggle time picture books! 🙂

Leave a Reply

