It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (17)

Standard

  Mon Reading Button PB to YA

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys where you can recap what you’ve read this week while planning ahead on what to read next! Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts added their own twist by focusing on kidlit, from picture books up to YA.

Wow, you guys! This school year started, and I feel like I’ve barely had time to come up for air! I’m envious of you bloggers that make balancing work/family/blogging  look so easy. I’ve neglected my blog so that I could focus “free” time on family, but I wanted to pop and and share some of what I’ve been reading.

Clicking the covers will take you to the Goodreads page for that book, where you can add it to your “To Read” list!

Recently I’ve read

Graphic Novel

Drama

MG/YA

Found (The Missing, #1)  Sent (The Missing, #2)  The Crown of Embers (Fire and Thorns, #2)  The Elite (The Selection, #2)

I was lucky enough to pick up Drama and an ARC of The Elite while at NCTE/ALAN November 15th – 20th. Drama was fabulous, and my students have already grabbed it up! The Elite was a typical second-in-a-series novel…nothing TOO exciting happened, but things are set up nicely for a great book 3.

I finished The Crown of Embers while on the plane to NCTE, and it was beautifully written. I originally saw Rae Carson at Austin Teen Book Fest earlier this year, and she seemed so down to earth and real. I got to see her again at NCTE, and she  was just as cool!

My son, J1, and I have both finished book 2 of the Found series, and we’re both taking a break for a bit to read other things. He said that we’ll start book 3 in January. It’s so fun having books to read (separately) together now that he’s getting bigger!

This week I’ll start/continue reading:

      MG/YA

                                                         Mexican WhiteBoy  Personal Effects

I was privileged to hear Matt de la Pena speak for the first time while at NCTE and ALAN, and his message is so inspiring. One of my students is finishing up a book, and I’m holding Mexican Whiteboy for him. I’m just hoping I have a chance to read it before he gets it; I’m sure I won’t see it again for a while if not!

What about you? What are YOU reading this week?

I promise I’ll be back next week 😉

One response »

  1. I am so excited to see your post! I missed your blog…you are always reading such interesting books. I just read Drama this week and loved it. My students snatched it up today. This reminded me that I want to read Mexican Whiteboy also. I have a lot of boys who would probably like it from what I have heard. I got Ball Don’t Lie at a library sale and finally got one of my students reading it. I will be interested to see what he thinks.

Leave a Reply

