It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (15)

Standard

  Mon Reading Button PB to YA

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys where you can recap what you’ve read this week while planning ahead on what to read next! Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts added their own twist by focusing on kidlit, from picture books up to YA.

Clicking the covers will take you to the Goodreads page for that book, where you can add it to your “To Read” list!

Last week I read

Last week was my first week with students for the 2012-2013 school year! Everything went smoothly, and I can’t wait to get see what happens this year!

Picture Books

Too Many Tamales

I read this with my students last week, then we came up with pre-writing ideas to go with 4 different prompts (write a story about: (1) the consequences of being sneaky; (2) the importance of family; (3) helping a friend in need; (4) spending time with loved ones.)

Graphic Novel

Lunch Lady and the Summer Camp Shakedown (Lunch Lady, #4)

YA/MG

The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking, #1)

Audio

Anna Dressed in Blood (Anna, #1)

Now that I have driving time without the kids, I fiiiiiiinally finished this audio book. The narrator drove me nuts. Very choppy “reading.” I wish that I had read the book rather than listening to the audio, but I still can’t wait to read book 2! If anyone else has listened to this, I would love to know what you thought!

This week I’ll start/continue reading:

Graphic Novel

Lunch Lady and the Bake Sale Bandit (Lunch Lady, #5)  Lunch Lady and the Bake Sale Bandit (Lunch Lady, #5)  Lunch Lady and the Field Trip Fiasco (Lunch Lady, #6)  Smile

My oldest son checked out some Lunch Lady from the library, so I’m reading them as he finishes. I went to the bookstore to pick up Drama by Raina, but they were all out, so I picked up Smile instead! I’ve heard nothing but good things, and I can’t wait to read this.

MG/YA

                                                         Defiance (Defiance, #1)  The Berlin Boxing Club

Professional

Thinking Through Genre: Units of Study in Reading and Writing Workshops Grades 4-12

I have been reading this book throughout the summer, and it is so fabulous! I have been wanting to teach through genre studies, and this book has been perfect for setting a plan/template for me to follow.

What about you? What are YOU reading this week?

8 responses »

  1. Ooh! Too Many Tamales! I haven’t seen that book in awhile. It was on my classroom library shelf when I taught. Gary Soto’s a great storyteller 🙂 Good activity to kick off your reading/writing year!

  2. I love the ideas you came up with for writing prompts from Too Many Tamales. What a great way to start your year with a high population of Hispanic students. I am sure they can relate. I agree about the narrator on Anna Dressed in Blood. I really liked the story but did not like the way it was read on the audiobook.

    • Sorry, forgot this in my other reply. What did you think of The Knife of Never Letting Go? I really felt disturbed by that book and felt so awful about Manchee. The rest of the trilogy was really good. He really surprised me throughout with twists and turns.

      • I still have mixed feelings. I think that Ness has a true art of storytelling, but the story was so heart-wrenching. And the ending?! Geez! I have the other 2 books from the library, but I haven’t started them yet.

  3. I love reading teachers’ ideas on how to get lessons from books! I definitely need to check out more of Patrick Ness’ books. I enjoyed A Monster Calls.

Leave a Reply

