It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (14)

Standard

  Mon Reading Button PB to YA

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys where you can recap what you’ve read this week while planning ahead on what to read next! Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts added their own twist by focusing on kidlit, from picture books up to YA.

Clicking the covers will take you to the Goodreads page for that book, where you can add it to your “To Read” list!

Last week I read

Now that summer is waning away, I’ve been focusing on reading professional texts and planning for school rather than reading for pleasure. However, I did get some good books read!

YA/MG

                                                       In A Glass Grimmly (A Tale Dark & Grimm #2)  Prodigy (Legend, #2)

In a Glass Grimmly was another fun read from Adam Gidwitz. Prodigy was just OMG. There was emotion, mystery, heartbreak, action…everything that you could want! I read both of these ARCs thanks to Jillian Heise and her generous ARC Tours for her Twitter friends! Thanks Jillian!

Graphic Novels

Out from Boneville (Bone, #1)

This was the first time I’ve read Bone, and I love it! I’ve had these in my classroom library all year, but they weren’t read much. I had a bunch of my boys latch on to the Amulet series this past year, and I can’t wait to book talk Bone and build up some excitement about the series.

This week I’ll start/continue reading:

Graphic Novel

The Great Cow Race (Bone, #2)

MG/YA

                                                        Fever (The Chemical Garden, #2)  The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking, #1)

I’ve had Fever checked out from the library for a couple of weeks (don’t worry, I’ve renewed it so I don’t get a fine ;)), and I just can’t get into it. I need to finish it up this week.

I checked out the e-book of The Knife of Never Letting Go from my library a couple of weeks ago. The only bad thing about borrowing e-books is that you can’t recheck them! My time was up before I was finished with the book, so I went and checked out the physical copy of the book. I’ll be finishing this one this week.

Professional

Thinking Through Genre: Units of Study in Reading and Writing Workshops Grades 4-12

I am LOVING this book. I have been wanting to do genre studies in my class — reading and writing within the same genre — and this is exactly the book that I needed to help me think through what I need to do. With my planning, I’m trying to combine my learning from Notebook Know-How and Ten Things Every Writer Needs To Know, and I am really excited about the learning that will take place in my class this year!

What about you? What are YOU reading this week?

9 responses »

  1. I’ve had the Tale Dark & Grimm on my list for a while, so great to hear it’s shaping out to be a good series. I too will be curious to hear your thoughts on The Knife of Never Letting Go. Have a great week!

  2. I know I’ve told just about everyone this, but The Knife of Never Letting Go scarred me for life! One of only two books I literally threw across the room, haha! It is remarkably well-written though. I’ve been trying to read up on MG and YA graphic novels, but didn’t even think about trying Bone. I’ll check one out soon! I’ve heard some really middling things about Fever. Most people seem to agree that it isn’t up to Wither’s quality. That’s why I’ve put off reading it.

  3. I am LOVING Ten Things Every Writer Needs to Know and can see how you will be doing great things in your classroom with the great professional reading you have done. I think genre studies make so much sense for high school English classes where you are combining reading and writing. In my 8th grade classroom the Bone series is super popular. I am sure your students will love it once you talk it up. I also am really interested in that Grimm series, it looks fun.

  4. So, this is my week of jealousy because I really want to read Glass Grimmly and Prodigy (though I do have to read Legend first ;-P) and they are just some of many that I’ve rad about this week that I want to read badly.
    You are so going to LOVE Knife of Never Letting Go. It is brilliant- enjoy!

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

