July Reading Re-cap

Standard

July was a big reading month for me! It was partially due to motivation by the #summerthrowdown challenge I participated in with some teachers and librarians on Twitter. We’re now in round 2 of the challenge, and my reading is still going strong.

I didn’t read as many professional books as I had planned. I feel like I need time/space to be fully immersed in professional texts — I’m highlighting, taking notes, planning, annotating, etc — whereas I can get by with not being as intense when reading for enjoyment. It’s kind of hard to get fully focused when three kids are running around the house ­čÖé

So here is my reading re-cap for the month of July. Rather than linking to each title, I’m linking to my “read” shelf on Goodreads, so you can add them from there!

Picture Books

Elmo’s Ducky Day by Sarah Albee
Horse by Malachy Doyle
Dog Biscuit by Helen Cooper
Tumble Bumble by Felicia Bond
11 Experiments That Failed by Jenny Offill
Cat Secrets by Jef Czekaj
Monsters Are Afraid of the Moon by Marjane Satrapi
Chicken Dance by Tammi Sauer
Falcon by Tim Jessell

Middle Grades

Penny From Heaven by Jennifer Holm
A Tale Dark and Grimm by Adam Gidwitz

Middle Grades – Graphic Novels

Babymouse: Rock Star by Jennifer Holm and Matt Holm
Babymouse: Heartbreaker by Jennifer Holm and Matt Holm
Camp Babymouse by Jennifer Holm and Matt Holm
Babymouse: Skater Girl by Jennifer Holm and Matt Holm
Babymouse: Puppy Love by Jennifer Holm and Matt Holm
Babymouse: The Musical by Jennifer Holm and Matt Holm
Babymouse: Dragonslayer by Jennifer Holm and Matt Holm
Babymouse: Burns Rubber by Jennifer Holm and Matt Holm
Babymouse: Cupcake Tycoon by Jennifer Holm and Matt Holm
Babymouse: Mad Scientist by Jennifer Holm and Matt Holm
A Very Babymouse Christmas by Jennifer Holm and Matt Holm

Young Adult

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
Legend by Marie Lu
Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi
What Happens Next by Colleen Clayton
The Forsaken by Lisa M. Stasse
Outpost by Ann Aguirre
Ashfall by Mike Mullin
The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson
Many Stones by Carolyn Coman
Every Day by David Levithan
One of Those Hideous Books Where the Mother Dies by Sonya Sones
Life As We Knew It by Susan B Pfeffer

Professional

Notebook Know-How: Strategies for the Writer’s Notebook by Aimee Buckner

I’m looking forward to a great reading month in August. If you have a similar wrap up post, leave your link…I would love to see what others are reading!

6 responses »

  1. Have you read Sonya Sones’ other books? She’s a popular author in my classroom. I want to read The Forsaken this month along with Every Day. How did you get to read Outpost already?! We read Enclave in the book club I run at school, and the girls are dying to read Outpost.

    • I read a What My Mother Doesn’t Know and Stop Pretending in June. Love them! I’ll be book talking those a lot; they don’t get read in the library, but I know my students will love them
      I read Outpost through Kathy’s (@thebrainlair) ARC tour. I bet she can add you to the list! It was soooo good. I really liked The Forsaken, too. I wrote a review for it.

  2. Wow! This is so impressive! And so many great books! I think at least half of your YA books are sitting in my to-read stack just off the side of my desk, lol.

    Can’t wait to see what you do for August! Keep up the great reading! ­čÖé

Leave a Reply

