It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (12)

Standard

  Mon Reading Button PB to YA

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys where you can recap what you’ve read this week while planning ahead on what to read next! Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts added their own twist by focusing on kidlit, from picture books up to YA.

Clicking the covers will take you to the Goodreads page for that book, where you can add it to your “To Read” list!

Last week I read

Picture Books

                                                          Chicken Dance  Monsters Are Afraid of the Moon

                     11 Experiments That Failed  Cat Secrets  Falcon

YA/MG

                              The Raven Boys (Raven Cycle, #1)  The Girl of Fire and Thorns (Fire and Thorns, #1)  Every Day

                              Many Stones  One of Those Hideous Books Where the Mother Dies  Life As We Knew It (Last Survivors, #1)

Professional

Notebook Know-How: Strategies for the Writer's Notebook

This week I’ll start/continue reading:

Graphic Novel

Out from Boneville (Bone, #1)

MG/YA

                            Fever (The Chemical Garden, #2)  In A Glass Grimmly (A Tale Dark & Grimm #2)  Demonglass (Hex Hall, #2)

Audio

Anna Dressed in Blood (Anna, #1)

Professional

Ten Things Every Writer Needs to Know

We’re in full swing of round 2 of #summerthrowdown, teachers vs. librarians, so I’m reading hard for #teamteacher!

What about you? What are YOU reading this week?

26 responses »

  1. I am intrigued by the book about writer’s notebooks. Did you like it? I am trying to figure out exactly how to structure the notebooks this year, but some of the books I have read have not been very helpful. All of the novels you read this week look excellent…I am especially excited to read The Raven Boys when it comes out.

    • I really liked it. I gave some great ideas for organization as well as mini-lessons/activities to use throughout the writing process.
      The Raven Boys was so good!

  2. SO MANY GOOD BOOKS! ack, I don’t know where to start. Cannot wait to read The Raven Boys, Maggie Stiefvater is one of my favorite authors. Her writing is just so beautiful. LOVED the Girl of Fire and Thorns. It was one of the books I voted for in NPR’s best teen books poll. Elissa is a fabulous protagonist. Just finished Many stones not long ago for #nerdprintz. I enjoyed it quite a bit. Thought it was a great examination of a father/daughter relationship after tragedy. Every Day is on my TBR stack. Will hopefully get to it next week. Really liked the Sones and am dying to read the Pfeffer. Phew!

    • Lol 🙂 The Raven Boys was fabulous. That was my first MaggieS book, but I can’t wait to read her others.
      I reviewed The Girl of Fire and Thorns here. I loved Elissa!

  3. Wow! You’ve been a reading machine! The covers or titles alone on some of your MG/YA make me want to check them out. Did you see the author/illustrator bios at the end of Chicken Dance?They totally had me cracking up. Seeing 11 Experiments that Failed, reminded me that I want to check that one out. Thanks for that reminder! 🙂 Have a great week!

  4. I’m just a bout finished the Notebook Connection – am so looking forwar to implementing a lot of her ideas. A great list of books – many to add to my list!

  5. Wow!!!! You have gotten a lot of reading done! I love it! Chicken Dance cracks me up, there is a second book out now! Elvis Poultry. 🙂 I love Nancy Carpenter’s illustrations in 11 Experiments. I have David Levithan’s book on my TBR. I love him. In a Glass Grimmly was fun, similar but different from Tales Dark and Grimm…comparable yet hard to compare…but definitely good! And yay for 10 Things!!! I loved it! Jeff Anderson is brilliant!

    • Someone mentioned there’s a Bawk & Roll book, too!
      I’m moving slowly through Jeff Anderson’s book. It’s hard for me to focus on professional books with the kids flying around lol. That’s my naptime read 🙂

  6. I’ve never seen any of those picture books before. Will have to look into them.

    Notebook Know-How is fantastic! How incredible is Buckner? I’d love for her to be my daughter’s classroom teacher one day.

  7. I can’t wait to read Raven Boys! I have always loved the title One of those Hideous Books Where the Mother Dies! Of course I enjoyed the book too, but the title is priceless. Looks like you had an awesome reading week and you have another one lined up. I will want to know how you like In a Glass Grimmly.

  8. Can’t wait for Raven Boys, like others. I also love the notebook know-how-very good & helpful. I loved the books starting with Life As We Knew It, & students did too. What a lot of terrific books. Thanks.

  9. Oh! I’ve got Anna Dressed in Blood as well and I’m wanting to start it soon, but I’m afraid to at night. It’s supposed to be scary!

    Can’t wait to hear what you thought of Raven Boys. I heard Maggie read some of it at BEA and I absolutely fell in love with the tone. It’s sounds great!

    have a great reading week!

Leave a Reply

