It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Standard

Mon Reading Button PB to YA

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys where you can recap what you’ve read this week while planning ahead on what to read next! Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts added their own twist by focusing on kidlit, from picture books up to YA.

Clicking the covers will take you to the Goodreads page for that book, where you can add it to your “To Read” list!

Last week I read

                              From What I Remember...  Babymouse: Monster Mash  To Dance: A Ballerina's Graphic Novel  

                                      Freshman Year & Other Unnatural Disasters  Lunch Lady and the Author Visit Vendetta (Lunch Lady, #3)  Playground

From What I Remember: Such a great read! The story is pretty crazy (Kylie and Max end up trapped in van of stolen goods, headed to Tijuana), but it was still somehow believable. It was told from multiple points of view, and I think it’s pretty well established that I LOVE books that are told from multiple POV! The ooooonly negative was the cover. It does NOT do the book justice!

 Babymouse: Monster Mash and Lunch Lady and the Author Visit Vendetta: These are such great kid/middle-grade graphic novels! I’m working on inter-library loans to get the whole set of each series so I can read them in order now! My oldest son (9 years old) loves Babymouse, even though she’s pink 🙂

To Dance: I thought the graphics were beautiful, and the story was good. But then it just…ended. Abruptly. Would have liked the story to be a bit more complete.

Freshman Year & Other Unnatural Disasters: I loved this book! It rang so true for anyone who has been through or is going through high school. I did my first book review over this book, which you can find here.

Playground: I will definitely be buying this book for my classroom. The subject matter (bullying, fitting in with “cool” crown, family issues) is something that a lot of my boys will be able to identify very closely with. The fact that it’s written by 50 Cent will make it that much more enticing!

This week I’ll read:

   Legend (Legend, #1)  Snitch    Boy21

     The Strange Case of Origami Yoda (Origami Yoda #1)  Darth Paper Strikes Back (Origami Yoda #2)  Amulet, Vol. 2: The Stonekeeper's Curse

Finish this audiobook:The Book Thief

The Librarians vs. Teachers #summerthrowdown starts today, so I’ll be logging my reads to help the teachers earn a victory in this friendly little contest.

What about you? What are YOU reading this week?

8 responses »

  1. I love all your covers!
    From What I Remember and Freshman year and Other natural Disasters sound like good reads 🙂
    We are both taking part in the Dystopia challenge 🙂 Good luck!
    Have a lovely week!

  2. What did you think of The Book Thief as an audiobook? Part of the appeal of that book for me was the way the author played with conventions in his writing. It is worth taking a look at it in print. I am intrigued by To Dance. I will have to add it to my to read shelf…it just keeps growing!

    • I love the audio! I read it a couple of years ago, but a lot of people recommended this audio when I was looking for suggestions. It’s been a great companion while cleaning today 🙂

  3. Origami Yoda and Darth Paper are pretty awesome. I was expecting them to be fun (and they were), but I was not prepared for how well they deal with real, complicated issues of middle school social life and education.

  4. Yay!!!! I love From What I Remember…!!!! I’m so glad people are picking it up and giving it a chance despite the cover. Such a great adventure. Love it. I’m sure you’ll love The Origami Yoda books! Super great. AND The Book Thief is absolutely amazing. A great great book. Happy reading!

    • My son loves Origami Yoda, so I’m playing catch up.
      Agree that The Book Thief is amazing. I read it a couple of years ago. Now listening to the audio thanks to Twitter suggestions!

  5. Oh! I’ve been wanting to read Origami Yoda for such a long time! I’m jealous! I’ve got From What I Remember on my to-read list as well, but I definitely love the original cover much more.

    Have a fabulous reading week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

