It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Standard

Mon Reading Button PB to YA

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys where you can recap what you’ve read this week while planning ahead on what to read next! Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts added their own twist by focusing on kidlit, from picture books up to YA.

Last week I read:

Goodreads is being a bit wacky today, so there won’t be any pictures!

I finally finished Evermore, which was meh. The whole reincarnations-eternal-love thing is little bit too much for me, especially when there is no real explanation for WHY this supernatural being is in love with a human, or WHY she just *happens* to be routinely reincarnated so they can find each other and fall in love all over again. I read Lauren Kate’s Fallen series a couple of months ago, and if you’re a fan of that series, I think you would like Evermore.

I read the Baby-Sitters Club graphic novel and loved it! I can’t wait to pick up a couple more!

This week I’ll read:

My pile is pretty high this week since I am attempting to participate in Donalyn Miller’s #bookaday challenge. You basically challenge yourself to read a book each day of the summer. I was done Friday, and I report back for school on August 20th, so I will be reading (at least) 65 books this summer!

Anyhow, this week I have these books on the lineup:

I’m starting with From What I Remember so I can chat with Jen (from Teach Mentor Texts) and Jillian (from Heise Reads & Recommends) about it. This was one of my Waiting on Wednesday books in May!

In addition, I want to finish Notebook Know-How: Strategies for the Writer’s Notebook by Aimee Buckner for my weekly professional read.

What are you reading this week?

6 responses »

  1. I love Aimee Buckner’s book-I hope you will, too. I am starting Penny Kittle’s Write Beside Them & a bunch of picture books Plus Fake Mustache to finish, then probably The Scorpio Races. I’m not sure. Good for you for doing the Bookaday. I think it does work out that I read that much, I just didn’t want to take more time from everything else. Your stack looks good! I recognize a few. Happy reading!

    • I have loved it so far. My students have always used binders+dividers, but I’m switching to notebooks next year. My district already encourages use of “interactive notebooks,” and I think it will help students stay more organized.
      I’m kind of using #bookaday to catch up on some shorter PB/MG books for my own kids. I know I won’t be able to read many YA books in only a day…too much else going on!

  2. Ha! Loved your comment at my blog about needing a Goodreads list to walk around the picture book section of the library. I know what you mean!

    My girls fight over the BSC graphic novels when they come home from the library, but I’ve yet to pick up one. I’ll try to sneak a peek before this one goes back to the library.

    And I was checking out some of your Teacher Write posts . . . such a great way to take little steps toward improving writing and most importantly making time for writing!

    • I *loved* BSC when I was growing up, so the GNs are right up my alley!
      Thanks for the writing encouragement! I’m still behind (trying to catch up from last week), but it will be worth it!

  3. I am DYING to read From What I Remember! Haven’t got my hands on it yet, but I will soon! (hopefully!) Of course, love the BabyMouse and Lunch Lady graphic novels! I’ll be reading more BabyMouse this week too!

Leave a Reply

