It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Standard

Mon Reading Button PB to YA

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys where you can recap what you’ve read this week while planning ahead on what to read next! Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts added their own twist by focusing on kidlit, from picture books up to YA.

Last week I read:

Aside from a couple of picture books with the kiddos, last week I didn’t read ANYTHING for me. *gasp*

I usually read with my students during the first 10 minutes of each class, so I get about an hour of reading done during each school day. However, students are returning books for library inventory, we’ve had alternate schedules for field trips, we’ve been finishing up the library genre-fication project…it’s just been a crazy week at school.

At home, I’ve just been lazy about picking anything up. I promised one of my students that I would read Evermore next (even though I have other books I’d rather be reading), and I think I’m just mentally blocking myself from getting started. I’m changing that today, though…as soon as this is posted, I’m jumping into Evermore.

This week I’m reading:

                   Kristy's Great Idea: A Graphic Novel (BSC Graphix, #1)  Evermore (The Immortals, #1)  Jumping Off Swings

I was OB.SESSED. with Baby-Sitters Club when I was younger, and the series is being issued in graphic novel format now. Kellee from Teach Mentor Texts had mentioned on Twitter that she was reading one of the graphic novels, and when I saw a copy at Half-Price Books, I just had to pick it up!

We’ve already established how I feel about Evermore…hopefully I’ll be into it once I start it!

I bought Jumping Off Swings in March-ish after seeing it discussed on Twitter. (Sidebar: Obviously I get a lot of book recs from the fabulous teachers, librarians, book people that I follow on Twitter. If you’re not on Twitter, you’re missing out!) I started reading it when I got home, and got to about page 80. I knew immediately that my students would connect with this story of a girl who gets pregnant after hooking up with a guy at a party. I book-talked it the next day, and it was snatched up by 1st period immediately! From there it was passed between about 6 girls and 1 boy. It has FINALLY made its way back to me, and I can’t wait to finish it! Every girl asked if Jo Knowles had more books, and the librarian put in an order for all of her books.

So that’s my plan for the week. What about you?

6 responses »

    • I stopped after book 3. I felt like everything was wrapped up well enough that I could pause and check out some other books. They’re starting the movie works for City of Bones.

  1. My oldest just discovered the GN’s for Babysitter’s Club and she’s hooked! Love that one book talk can send a book off and away like that. Another Jo Knowles book for the TBR! Good luck wrapping up the year!

  2. I didn’t even know they had Babysitter’s Club graphic novels! I will definitely have to order those for my library. Evermore is on my to-read list too. The series seems to be really popular among my teen patrons. I have been hearing so much about Jo Knowles lately. I have never read any of her books, but I really want to.

Leave a Reply

