Top 10 Tuesday

Standard

This is a weekly meme hosted by the good folks at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is…

Top Ten Blogs/Sites You Visit That AREN’T about Books

1. Postsecret:  I faithfully check the website every Sunday for new secrets that people have submitted to Frank Warren’s project.

2. Baseball Beer Season: This is my husband’s blog that he started this Astros season to chronicle his challenge to have a different craft beer for every game. 162 games. 162 brews.

3. Twitter: Not sure if this exactly counts, but I read through all of the tweets on my timeline!

4. Chron.com: I keep track of our local Houston news during my lunch break at work. I usually end up at the Tubular blog, checking out reviews about shows I watch (Fringe!).

5. 1000 Awesome Things: This blog was started in June 2008 by Neil Pasricha and counted down from 1,000 to the #1 awesome thing. His journey finally reached its “end” on April 19th.

6. English Companion Ning: This ning was created by Jim Burke, and is a wonderful place to communicate with other English teachers about ideas, lesson, tips, etc.

7. Two Peas in a Bucket: My other hobbies include photography and scrapbooking (when I can find time), and I love this website for inspiration and resources.

8. Pinterest: I discovered this site while on maternity leave with my youngest in the spring/summer of 2010. It can definitely be a time-suck, but I love being able to pin ideas as I visit sites as well as looking at other people’s boards for inspiration. Feel free to add me as a friend!

9. TravelZoo Top 20: I get this email in my inbox, and I just can’t help but scroll through and dream about how one day (when I’m rich and retired) my husband and I will just book these great deals and take off on trips around the world!

10. Pink Is the New Blog: Guilty pleasure of entertainment gossip. Don’t judge me! I honestly haven’t checked out this site in ages, but I sometimes check in just to see what’s going on with the crazy celebrities.

This was probably the hardest top 10 I’ve done so far. Scrolling through my Google Reader I realized that EVERY blog I routinely read is a book blog!

I can’t wait to check out some other posts and find some interesting places to visit!

7 responses »

  1. I really want to get into scrapbooking. I just haven’t because I seem to always run out of time. Pinterest I’m just starting to get into. I like it though being able to find cool photos and just stick them together for ideas. I used to do that with magazines when I was younger.

    • I started doing digital scrapbooking using Photoshop, and I get a lot more done than I otherwise would. Small house + 3 kids = no room for scrapbooking! 🙂

  2. Love Postsecret and Pinterest. The rest are new to me, but TravelZoo Top 20 is one I’ll probably be subscribing as well. I love to travel and dream of having many adventures in exotic places.

  3. found your blog on TTT. Have never checked it out before…so awesome! Will definitely be checking back in. Loved your list, was nice to see some unusual ones on there that I was not aware of…gives me something else to do to kill time at work.

Leave a Reply

