It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Standard

Mon Reading Button PB to YA

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys where you can recap what you’ve read this week while planning ahead on what to read next! Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts added their own twist by focusing on kidlit, from picture books up to YA.

I had a migraine that last a couple of days this week (how do people that get them often even function?!), so I didn’t get as much reading done as I’d hoped. But I finished both of these this week:

                                                                   Bitterblue (Graceling Realm, #3)  Insurgent (Divergent, #2)

I’m sad to say that I was disappointed with Bitterblue. I had such high expectations, and I wanted to love it so much! I felt what much of the story drug on forever, even to the point of repetition. I was under the assumption that this would be the 3rd and final book, but I was left with SO many questions! *sigh*

Insurgent, on the other hand, was wonderful. I still have questions, but there’s still one more book! Is there anyway we could get that book now? 🙂

I’m also listening to the audiobook of Fire by Kristin Cashore, and I absolutely LOVE the narrator’s voice! I don’t know how the narrators change their voices so beautifully…I always feel like an idiot when I do that!

This week I plan to read:

                                      Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1) Me and Earl and the Dying Girl  Stupid Fast

The kids and I will go to the library tomorrow, so I’m sure I’ll be adding some picture books to the mix. I need to gather some more titles for Caldecott challenge.

What are you reading this week?

14 responses »

  1. I haven’t read BITTERBLUE or INSURGENT (or DIVERGENT either, for that matter). I need to do some serious YA reading this summer, thinking I will start with DIVERGENT. I read STUPID FAST last summer and loved it (my boys are football players).

  2. Saw your comment on my blog. Never fear… Scholastic book sales should still be going on until lthe 17th. Check it out in your area to see how long yours is going till.

  3. For some weird reason neither Bitterblue or Insurgent have arrived yet, even though I reordered them. I must follow-up. I’m disappointed to hear that Bitterblue was a drag. I loved Graceling and Fire so much.

    Stupid Fast is a new favorite. I have no trouble at all talking boys into reading it. I also have Me, and Earl and the Dying Girl on my TBR pile.

    • Oh, no! I’m scared to preorder for that very reason…I’d much rather have control of picking them up on my own! Hopefully they’ll come quick!

  4. LOVED Me, and Earl and the Dying Girl, although it’s definitely not for everyone. I thought it was hilarious, heartbreaking, and very real. I’ll be interested in seeing what you think about Stupid Fast. I can’t decide if I want to read that one or not.

  5. So far, am feeling kind of “meh” about Insurgent, but now I’m kind of scared about Bitterblue, since I loved the others. I’ll be interested in seeing what you think about Me and Earl….its different. Can’t say I loved it, but I can see how some would.

  6. Just finished Stupid Fast on Sunday…can’t wait to hear your thoughts! Loved, loved, LOVED Insurgent!

Leave a Reply

