It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (55)

Standard

IM  Mon Reading Button PB to YA

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys where you can recap what you’ve read this week while planning ahead on what to read next! Jen at Teach Mentor Texts and Kellee & Ricki at Unleashing Readers added their own twist by focusing on kidlit, from picture books up to YA.

Clicking the covers will take you to the Goodreads page, where you can add it to your “To Read” list!

Last week I read:

MG/YA Books

Seraphina (Seraphina, #1)  Into the Still Blue (Under the Never Sky, #3)

Seraphina: This was a great fantasy read that completely deserved all the praise and awards it received. I loved the character of Seraphina, and I loved the world Rachel Hartman created. I can’t wait to continue the series.

Into the Still Blue: A great ending for a great trilogy. It wasn’t as emotional as the endings to other trilogies lately — I’m looking at you Allegiant! It was quite satisfying, but also a little flat, if that makes any sense at all. I still love Roar!

Audiobooks

The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom

The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom: This was such a great retelling of fairy tales that we all love. My son was in and out of the car when I was listening, so he missed pieces of the story, and he asked if he could listen to it on his own…that’s a definite win! The narrator has AMAZING voices for the characters, and we will definitely be listening to book 2 as well!

This week I’ll continue reading:

MG/YA Books

Reality Boy

I managed to get started on this on Sunday, but I didn’t get far because of the Super Bowl (way to go Seahawks!).

Audiobook

Curtsies & Conspiracies (Finishing School, #2)

I absolutely loved Etiquette & Espionage on audiobook last summer, and this audiobook is living up to my expectations! Moira Quirk does an amazing job with accents and voices as the narrator of this book!

Other possible reads this week:

  Don't Look Back  Now Is the Time for Running  How I Live Now  Twenty Boy Summer

I’m not very good at sticking to plans of what I will read, but these are some books that will be in the mix!

*** *** ***

I can’t wait for this week of reading! What about you?

9 responses »

  1. I can’t wait to read Into the Still Blue. I listened to the first two in the trilogy, but will probably read the third book so I can go faster with it. Reality Boy is on my shelf to read also. I have enjoyed the other books I’ve read by A.S. King and this one has an interesting premise. Have a good reading week!

  2. So glad you loved the audio of THE HERO’S GUIDE. It’s one of my favorite audiobooks of all time. And I especially love that it’s Bronson Pinchot doing the narration. I used to love PERFECT STRANGERS as a kid. Yes it was a cheesy 80s sitcom, yes I got made fun of for watching it, but I loved it anyway. :)

  3. It may sound silly, but I don’t drive very long anymore, moved last year very close to my work & family, so I haven’t been doing audio. Maybe I should find a way to download on another device & listen while doing something else-sketching or ? Anyway, loved hearing especially about your audio books-have taken notes! Thanks much!

  4. I found Reality Boy heavy but really liked it. A.S. King writes such great books. I have heard multiple times that Hero’s Guide is hilarious as an audio book. I read it to myself but think I would have liked listening or even reading it aloud more. Some very funny parts.

  5. I really enjoyed Serpaphina. Yes, Reality Boy was more work with the heavier tone. Hero’s Guide was a fun read, but I am glad to know it’s a good audio. I will have to get that for the library.

  6. I own a copy of How I Live Now but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. Reality Boy sounds like a really powerful novel. I just might have to check out Seraphina soonest! :) Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

