It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (53)

Standard

IM  Mon Reading Button PB to YA

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys where you can recap what you’ve read this week while planning ahead on what to read next! Jen at Teach Mentor Texts and Kellee & Ricki at Unleashing Readers added their own twist by focusing on kidlit, from picture books up to YA.

Clicking the covers will take you to the Goodreads page, where you can add it to your “To Read” list!

The last week I read:

MG/YA Books

Tiger Lily  Rules of Attraction (Perfect Chemistry, #2)  The Truth About Alice

Tiger Lily: A haunting re-telling of the Peter Pan tale, focusing on Tiger Lily and told from Tinker Bell’s point of view. While I didn’t love it like some people did, I definitely enjoyed it. It was really interesting to see a different take on the fairy tale, and the ending brought some tears. This also counts as my “Around the World” motif challenge read.

Rules of Attraction: The second story in the Fuentes brothers’ trilogy is about the middle brother Carlos who has moved to Colorado to live with Alex after some trouble in Mexico. My students absolutely love this series, and I am loving it as well. I think that Simone Elkeles does a great job of writing an authentic story.

The Truth About Alice: A short, but powerful, book that showcases the power of rumors. I loved that the book was told from multiple POVs, and I really wanted to slap some of the characters for being so stupid.

I’ll continue reading:

MG/YA Books

  Dangerous
Started on Sunday

Audiobook

The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom
Not driving my long drive every other weekend, so it’s been slow going.

Other possible reads this week:

Into the Still Blue (Under the Never Sky, #3)  Seraphina (Seraphina, #1)  Chain Reaction (Perfect Chemistry, #3)

I’ve been saving a Christmas gift card so that I can buy Into the Still Blue on Tuesday! I can’t wait to see how that series ends. After reading Rules of Attraction this week, I’m ready to see how the littlest Fuentes brother ends up, as well. Seraphina has been on my TBR for a while, and I’m hoping to get to that this week.

*** *** ***

I can’t wait for this week of reading! What about you?

7 responses »

Leave a Reply

