It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (48)

Standard

IM  Mon Reading Button PB to YA

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journeys where you can recap what you’ve read this week while planning ahead on what to read next! Jen at Teach Mentor Texts and Kellee & Ricki at Unleashing Readers added their own twist by focusing on kidlit, from picture books up to YA.

Clicking the covers will take you to the Goodreads page, where you can add it to your “To Read” list!

The last week I read:

MG/YA Books

Since this is my first IMWAYR post since August, this is what I’ve been reading since school started. We chose to save some money this year and have our children ride the bus home from school rather than being picked up by then staying at daycare. So I leave *right* when I am off and bring work home with me, which has definitely been an adjustment! I’ve missed reading and posting about reading, so I’m hoping to get back into this blogging schedule!

Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy (Gallagher Girls, #2)  Perfect Chemistry (Perfect Chemistry, #1)  The Berlin Boxing Club  Vortex (Insignia, #2)

Cross My Heart and Hope To Spy: I can’t wait to finish the Gallagher Girl series!
Perfect Chemistry: Now I see why my students love this series. I need to push it on some boys.
Berlin Boxing Club: I love stories about this era.
Vortex: Great follow up to Insignia, and a great surprise purchase from my husband!

  The Body Finder (The Body Finder, #1)  The Scorpio Races  Bang (Visions, #2)  Ask My Mood Ring How I Feel

The Body Finder: I don’t usually read mysteries, but the characters were fabulous, and now I’m invested.
The Scorpio Races: Deadly race horses from the sea + hardcore girl + quietly gentle boy = win.
Bang: Quick read from Sawyer who is seeing a vision of a school shooting. (Also, I love Jules’ family.)
Ask My Mood Ring How I Feel: Great MG read about a girl dealing with the news that her mom has breast cancer.

  Where the Stars Still Shine  The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle, #2)  Tumble & Fall  The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian

Where the Stars Still Shine: Hope and healing as Cassie learns what a real family is all about.
The Dream Thieves: The tortured Raven Boys are even more tortured.
Tumble & Fall: The only real “meh” book that I read. 3 teens wait for astroid to hit Earth.
The Absolutely True Story of a Part-Time Indian: Reread for book talk. Perfect post-Wimpy Kid read.

Insurgent (Divergent, #2)  Allegiant (Divergent, #3)

I reread Insurgent to get ready for Allegiant, and thank goodness I did! Still enjoyed Insurgent, and Allegiant was an epic finale with LOTS of Jenn tears.

This week I plan to read/continue:

MG/YA Books

When We Wuz Famous  The Darkest Minds (The Darkest Minds, #1)

Educational

Texts and Lessons for Content-Area Reading: With More Than 75 Articles from the New York Times, Rolling Stone, the Washington Post, Car and Driver, Chicago Tribune, and Many Others

Audiobook

The Diviners

*** *** ***

I can’t wait for this week of reading! What about you?

5 responses »

  1. I really wish I had reread Insurgent before starting Allegiant. I think I am remembering things now but it took a little while to get into the story because I was mixing it up with multiple other series in my mind. The Berlin Boxing Club is definitely on my list of books to read as well. I am glad to see you back. I hope you can find time to read and blog as the year continues.

  2. So many great titles. Love both of these Stiefvater books. I read The Diviners last Christmas and must admit it affected my sleep. Heard it is fantastic on audio. Bur maybe a little scary .. . ? I am very wimpy!

  3. Glad to see you back! :)

    OMG! I looooooooooooved the audiobook of THE DIVINERS! There’s a moment when the narrator, January LaVoy, sings the negro spiritual “Wade in the Water” and it is just so hauntingly beautiful. One of my all-time favorite audiobooks.

  4. Wow, there’s a lot of books here! I should also be reading Sherman Alexie’s The Absolutely true diary of a Part-time Indian for our book club this November but I haven’t gotten around to it yet. Looks like Veronica Roth has created an unforgettable series in the Divergent books. I’m also hoping I can read Raven Boys so that I can also get into Dream Thieves soonest. :) Have a great reading week!

Leave a Reply

